Entries for the SAM Awards can be submitted in June/July every year by the artists themselves or their representatives. Their is no nomination process, so please make sure you enter yourself to be considered. This ensures that the artist has approved the entry and that the contact and release information is accurate. Entries are to be submitted via our website www.southaustralianmusicawards.com.au and we require all contact information, release information and audio/video content to be submitted for assessment by the panel.

The SAM Awards judging panel is comprised of a ‘core’ panel of 10x South Australian judges as well as a panel of 10x national judges. The judging panels aim to be as balanced and diverse as possible, taking into account different age groups, genders, cultural backgrounds, industry sector experience and personal music genre preference.

The judges sit on the panel for a maximum of 3 years before they are replaced. They must sit out for at least 2 years before they can be invited back onto the panel. Expressions of interest to join the panel can be sent to the SAM Awards Event Manager Emma Coyle

The core judges vote in all Peer-Voted Awards (music and industry categories) over two rounds of voting.

The 2017 core judges are:
Alice Fraser – Lunatic Entertainment
Anne Wiberg – Music SA Board
Emma Coyle – Music SA
Luke Penman – Radio Adelaide
Matt Horvath – Clarity Records
Sose Fuamoli – AU Review
Spoz – Spoz’s Rant
Tam Boakes – Jive
Trials – A.B. Original
Troy Sincock – Fresh 92.7

The national judges only vote in the Peer-Voted Awards (music categories) in the final round of voting.

The 2017 national judges are:
Bonnie Dalton – Minnow & Co
Dan Cribb – The Music
Daniel Sant – Niche Talent Agency
Dot Markek – Double J
Greg Carey – Grow Yourself Up
Harvey Saward – Remote Control Records
Jess Beston – Tiny Monster
Johann Ponniah – I Oh You
Rebecca Young – Collective Artists
Richard Moffat – Way Over There